Knights of Columbus

Annunciation Council 12761
   P.O. Box 163217    Altamonte Springs, FL 32716-3217 
red horizontal line

Site Navigation






Altamonte Springs





Join the largest Catholic Fraternal Organization as we take on the many challenges that face our Church, Family and Community.  All men, 18 years and older are encouraged to join the almost two (2) Million Catholic men who daily provide service to our parishes and communities through the many programs that the Knights of Columbus support.  The Knights have been called the "Strong Right Arm of the Church" and help raise money for church and community needs as well as promote our faith.  The Knights of Columbus also provides families with some of the best insurance and securities that are the most secure investments in today's unstable economy.

Your commitment, when you join us, is one (1) hour at our monthly business meeting.  The times and locations of the meetings are specified in the 'Home' page of this web site.

To become a Knight of Columbus, a man must be at least 18 years of age and a "practical" Catholic in union with the Holy See. 

What is a practical Catholic?
A practical Catholic is defined as a person who follows the commandments of God and the laws of the Church.  It is very important for candidates presenting themselves for membership to have a thorough understanding of the implications of this requirement.  A practical Catholic:

  • Attends Mass regularly
  • Receives the sacraments
  • Observes the marriage laws of the Catholic Church. A valid marriage is one in which all the requirements have been met. A second marriage is invalid if there has been a divorce and an annulment has not been granted. If a brother Knight has become widowed and wishes to remarry, no annulment is needed, as long as the other party is also free to marry.
  • The following is a road map of how we practice our faith:

    The Ten Commandments:

    1. I am the Lord your God, you brought you out of slavery; worship no God except Me.
    2. You shall not misuse the name of the Lord your God.
    3. Remember to keep holy the Sabbath Day.
    4. Honor your father and mother.
    5. You shall not kill.
    6. You shall not commit adultery.
    7. You shall not steal.
    8. You shall not tell lies against your neighbor.
    9. You shall not covet your neighbor's wife or husband.
    10. You shall not covet your neighbor's possessions.

    The Laws of the Church:

    1. Celebrate Christ's resurrection every Sunday (or Saturday evening) and on holy days of obligation.
    2. Lead a Sacramental life.  Receive Holy Communion frequently and the Sacrament of Penance, or Reconciliation, regularly.  We must receive Holy Communion at least once a year at Lent and Easter. We must confess within a year, if we have committed a mortal sin.
    3. Study Catholic teachings throughout life, especially in preparing for the sacraments.
    4. Observe the marriage laws of the Catholic Church and give religious training to one's children.
    5. Strengthen and support the Church; one's own parish, the worldwide Church, and the Holy Father.
    6. Do penance, including not eating meat and fasting from food on certain days.
    7. Join the missionary work of the Church.

    Holy Days of Obligation:

    1. Solemnity of Mary Mother of God (January 1)
    2. Ascension of Jesus (during the Easter season)
    3. Assumption of Mary (August 15)
    4. All Saints Day (November 1)
    5. Immaculate Conception (December 8)
    6. Christmas (December 25)

    The Greatest Virtue:

    Love is a virtue that enables us to love God, our neighbor, and ourselves.  When we practice the virtue of love, we come know why St. Paul ends his description of love by saying that of three virtues of faith, hope, and love, "the greatest of these is love."  In our Catholic tradition, we know some very specific ways to practice the virtue of love.  These are called the Corporal and Spiritual Works of Mercy.

    The Corporal Works of Mercy:

    Show us how to care for the physical well-being of our neighbors.

    1. Feed the hungry.
    2. Give drink to the thirsty.
    3. Shelter the homeless.
    4. Clothe the naked.
    5. Care for the sick.
    6. Help the imprisoned.
    7. Bury the dead.

    The Spiritual Works of Mercy:

    Show us how to care for the spiritual well-being of our neighbors.

    1. Share knowledge.
    2. Give advice to those who need it.
    3. Comfort those who suffer.
    4. Be patient with others.
    5. Forgive those who hurt you.
    6. Give correction to those who need it.
    7. Pray for others.
    Interested in joining our Order?

    For more information about how you can join our Annunciation Council 12761 at the Annunciation Catholic Church, please contact our Membership Director, Sir Knight Bob Nettles, for membership information.


    Emblem of our Order

    The Emblem of the Order dates from the Second Supreme meeting, May 12, 1883, when it was designed by James T. Mullen, who was then the first Supreme Knight.  A quick glance at the Emblem indicates a shield mounted upon a Formee cross similar to a Maltese cross, turned sideways. The shield is that associated with a medieval Knight. The Formee cross is the representation, in a traditionally artistic design, of the Cross of Christ through which all graces of redemption were procured for mankind.  This, then, represents the Catholic spirit of the Order.

    Mounted on the shield are three objects; a mace standing vertically, and crossed behind it, an anchor and a dagger or short sword.  The mace from Roman days of authority, which must exist in any tightly-bonded and efficiently operating organization.  The anchor is the mariner's symbol for Columbus, patron of the Order, while the short sword or dagger was the weapon of the Knight when engaged upon an errand of mercy.

    Thus the shield expresses Catholic Knighthood in organized merciful action, and with the letters K. of C., it proclaims this specific form of activity.  The red, white, and blue in the background of the shield and the foreground of the Cross of Malta are the colors of our beloved country.  As such, red is the color of stout-hearted courage, of pulsing activity and a full measure of devotion.  Blue is the symbol of hope, of calm tranquility under God, and of confidence in the protection of our country, established under God.  White is the symbol of nobility of purpose, of purity of aim, and of crucible-tried ideals to be carried out.

    Faith, Hope, and Charity

    But there is another symbolism of color in red, white, and blue.  This is the ecclesiastical symbolism in which red becomes the reflection of the drops of Christ's redemptive blood, shed upon Calvary, and of the Martyr's blood shed in defense of the faith.  Red, then, is the symbol of Faith, of belief in Christ, in the Redemption, and in the mission of every man to spread the knowledge and love of...Jesus Christ.

    White is the color of the Eucharistic Host, pledge of God's Eucharistic presence among men, of the infinite love God had for man, and of the overwhelming affection which the God-man had for each individual.  White then is the symbol of Christ-like Charity.

    Blue is the color of Our Lady's mantle, in which she draped her beloved Son, through Whom salvation came to a sinful world. Blue is then the symbol of Hope.


    Your comments welcome!